New Writing South Best New Play Award 2019 – Shortlist Announced

May 7, 2019

New Writing South, in partnership with Brighton Fringe, is delighted to announce the shortlist for the Best New Play Award 2019. This award is presented to a playwright in recognition of an outstanding, original theatre script produced at Brighton Fringe.

We received 68 entries this year and 11 plays have been shortlisted. These are:

After Aulis by Rowena Cooper

The Art of Caring by Sam Cartwright

Black Peter by Christopher Schaunig

Clean by Sam Chittenden

The Death of Ivan Ilyich by Luke Ofield and Pip O’Neill

The Geminus by Ross Dinwiddy

Like the Sea by Zoe Sharpe

Lights! Planets! People! by Molly Naylor

Seven Ages of Mam by Mark Evans with contributions from Pauline O’Driscoll

Wolf Tamer by Rachel Mae Brady

25/The Decriminalisation Monologues by Sean Denyer

The winner will be annouced at the Fringe Award Ceremony on Sunday 2 June 2019. The winner will receive a cheque for £250 and free registration to next year’s Fringe.